Ravenlock Pokemon Sim

Published October 12, 2013 by Ro Sparklebutt

Hello lovelies!

I decided to try my hand at a review/feature today. I am by no means a professional reviewer or photographer, so I am not expecting this to be up to the same standards of the professional reviews you may see on other blogs. However, I have had fun putting it together and I’m happy with the results. So, without further ado, I will introduce you to *drumroll* The Ravenlock Pokemon Sim!

Here are the linkies for it!

slurl

The official website is: http://igff.ww4.us/

This is one of my favourite sims on Second Life, and when I have the money to buy pokeballs, I can spend hours flying around and catching Pokemon.

It’s also a role play sim and there are several active role play groups and roleplayers. As well as an active general chat group. Everyone I’ve met here has been very friendly and its creator Mindy Runo is very approachable and happy to help if you have problems. There is also a whole team of staff to help you. Just asking for help in the group will usually get you one of them, or a member that is happy to help you!

This is the area you will find yourself in when you first arrive.

This is in the Town Square of the main town of the Sim. You can find everything you need here to get started in your journey as a Pokemon Master!

Here is a quick, aerial veiw of the Town Square!

Amberville Town Square

From here you can see the lab, the PokeMart and also the back of the lucky chair!  I didn’t take any pictures inside the lab, but the outside features a board with capture scores on. Personally I’ve never paid much attention to it, but if it’s something that interests you, well now you know where it is!

The PokeMart is obviously where you get your gear, so let’s take a look.

It’s very easy to see as soon as you walk out of the landing point (don’t forget to get your free gift from the picture board before you leave!) Here you can get the newspapers from the kiosks outside (both free) and inside you can get your Pokeball thrower of your choice (mine is a Pinkie Pie thrower) and the amount of Pokeballs that you want. Just hold your thrower, rez the refill pack on the ground and click it. You now have Pokeballs to throw at things! You can get a full list of the Pokemon and other things available to catch at the official website, linked above. This is a good time for me to tell you of a way to get 25 free balls! The lucky chair!

I’m sure most of you know how lucky chairs work, but if you don’t it’s very easy! If the letter on the chair is the same as the first letter of your Second Life name (the name you made when you joined up, not the display name) sit on the chair, and you win the prize! The chair in the Town Square gives away 25 balls to the lucky winner.

Now that you’re all set up, you’re probably going to want to go and catch some Pokemon and other creatures, so let’s go and look around!  To move around the sim there are teleporters. There are two types, so I’ll show them to you.

The one in the bottom right is very simple. You click it, and then you are teleported to the place the sign on it says. The bigger one will take you to more places. Just click it, select where you want to go and then sit on it and choose teleport in the box that pops up and you’ll arrive at your destination. It really depends on how you want to explore the sim.

Also, don’t forget your Pokemon trainer ID! There is a kiosk to make it in the Town Square. This is mine, I still use that avatar sometimes, but I don’t use the name Maelin anymore so I’m probably going to make an updated one, soon.

The box for the teleport ring is giving you a clue to the places around so I’ll just post the pictures.

My Little Pony area

Here’s a sample of the Minecraft area. Here you can catch Minecraft creatures, of course, but also Minecraft versions of Pokemon!

Here’s a Minecraft Bulbasaur. I think he’s kind of cute, also a couple of other more Minecraft themed creatures to catch. The creeper is a baby!

There are a couple of other special areas too. I haven’t taken pictures of everything in every area because well, that’s a lot of pictures, but also there are places to explore and discover and I think it will be a lot more fun to hunt them out for yourself. I think I’ll just post the pictures of them.

The Power Plant. The box in the right hand corner is where you go if you’d like to add your own graffiti to the plant and get a rainbow coin. I didn’t post pictures of the graffiti because I don’t know who did the pictures to get permission.

Mario Land with some Yoshi’s and a bronze coin.

Snowy Region

Lavender Town

Hyrule Field

Desert

Beach, also showing the paddleboat ride, and a view of a Pokemon underneath the water.

Cave of Wonders.

For those wondering what the coins I’ve mentioned are, and what they’re for. Well, here is one.

You can find them all over the sim. They come in bronze, silver, gold, diamond and rainbow. The two pictured are in Lavender Town and the Mario area.  There is a vendor in the building to the left of the PokeMart in the Town Square. Go upstairs and you will find this:

There are instructions on how to use it are contained the Pokeball. Click it and you’ll get a notecard with the instructions, and prices for the various Pokemon you can buy.

Another thing to look out for while you’re exploring the sim is itemballs.

If you find one of these, click it and you’ll be given one to rez on the ground (you can rez on the sim) this will then give you a free gift. There are all sorts of things to get, from My Little Pony pillows to free ball refills! So do look out for them. Once you’ve got your prize from a ball you can’t do anything else with it, so personally I just right click and delete it.

Usually, this would be where I would write a bit about my feelings on the sim and what I like and don’t like about it. However, it’s October! Which means… there’s an amazing Halloween area and event going on at the moment! To get there, find this door in the Town Square and go through it!

There are special Halloween prizes to get by smashing pumpkins around the sim. You get various items from them, which can then be rezzed on top of a cauldron in the staring point of the Halloween area to get Halloween themed prizes. There is a sign to click next to the cauldron that gives you instructions and recipes.

Halloween themed thrower and Halloween themed Pokemon list.

Creepy house

Creepy tree

I keep finding these creepy notes around the area.

This is in the Halloween event start area. It’s a broom ride tour of the area.

There are also Halloween themed Pokemon to catch!

So this is just a small (well, long) look into the Ravenlock Pokemon sim!

It’s one of my favourite sims, as I said earlier. I love how much content there is here. There are so many things to catch, and places to explore. I still haven’t found Team Rocket’s hideout! I think I’ve found Team Magmas though! The areas are well designed and the textures and objects they’ve used to decorate really help you feel like you’re in a Pokemon game.

I have to say, one of my favourite areas is probably the Minecraft area. It works amazingly well in Second Life.

For me, I’ve only noticed two issues that I get occasionally. One of them is, sometimes, when I throw my Pokeball at something, I’ll hear and see it hit, but I still don’t catch the Pokemon, which is particularly annoying when it’s one that’s moving quite fast and it’s hard to get the aim right. The other is that sometimes my thrower will stop throwing balls. I have to unattach it and reattatch it to make it work again.

But, for a sim that sized and with so many things to do, the fact that I’ve only been able to find two glitches (that may possibly just be my Firestorm glitching and not the sim at all!) is fantastic. Well done Mindy and the team for such a fun and creative sim to play in! I look forward to coming to catch Pokemon soon!

Mindy Runo

I hope you enjoyed the pictures and comments about the Ravenlock Pokemon sim! Thank you for reading!

Love and bubbles!

Me, with some of the Pokemon I’ve caught.

One comment on “Ravenlock Pokemon Sim

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

